A place for customers to chat about Realmac and its products - RapidWeaver, Clear and Ember!

integrate a XML and CSV Data Feed!

HopChicagoHopChicago Posts: 4Members
Hi everyone,

I am new to website design, so please, be patient with me?

Hotelscombined.com offers a XML and CSV Data Feed of their hotel listings. I want to integrate one of these data feeds into my website so that the hotels can be accessed from there.

Is this possible?

HotelsCombined offers the feeds. But, don't offer any information on how to use them. They just offer downloads in .zip form.

Can anybody help me?

This same question was posted in 2008. But, no one could answer it. I really need an answer or a path to the answer.

Thanks!

http://www.hopchicago.com/

Comments

• lannylanny Posts: 803Members
    edited 5:05AM
    I would process the feed with php. There is (might be) a javascript function but I never used it.

If you are not familiar with either it might not be possible, but perhaps someone else knows a way ... if not, send me the feed address ...
  • HopChicagoHopChicago Posts: 4Members
    Thanks.

As i said, though, it is not a actual feed url. It is actually a download page that distributes various xml and csv files through .zip format.

Here is the page url: http://affiliates.hotelscombined.com/Tools/DataFeedsNew.aspx.

I hope you can tell me more about it.

I really appreciate your effort.

http://hopchicago.com/
    The page you pointed me to is a login page. I assume you log in and then there is a link to the file. This is not easy to automate in RW or any web site development tool. It can be done but it certainly is not within a forum advice scope.

If you download the file manually and unzip it, then integrating into RW would be relatively easy but still require coding. Depending on the size, you could leave it as a csv or feed it into a (mySQL or SQLite) database. Both of these options are processable by simple php code but again, its writing is beyond forums scope.