A place for customers to chat about Realmac and its products - RapidWeaver, Clear and Ember!

How to create a Photography Web Site

LK23LK23 Posts: 9Members
I am a photographer and previously used iWeb to create my web site. I have downloaded RapidWeaver on a test basis and, so far, have been unable to create anything similar to what I had with iWeb. It is really pretty simple. A Home Page with my introduction, one photo and links to several categories pages, like Landscapes. Each of those pages would have 16 to 20 photos that can be seen as a slideshow or individually enlarged.

I cannot seem to get past the home page. RapidWeaver has pre-defined sample text and I have not been able to change it. Clicking on the text does nothing.

I would appreciate any suggestions to help me get started.

Would the Home page and each photo category be a page in RapidWeaver and how are they linked?

Also, any suggestions on templates would be appreciated.

I think RapidWeaver will be the best tool, I just cannot figure it how to use it.

Thanks.

Comments

• BikemanBikeman Posts: 327Members
    edited April 2012
    I will try to help get you started. RW is sometimes hard to make the transition from iWeb. It's not a hard to use program but the process is different enough to make it challenging at first. I will address your questions first and then suggest three sources for help in learning RW, other than these forums.

So to let's get to answering those questions.
    I cannot seem to get past the home page. RapidWeaver has pre-defined sample text and I have not been able to change it. Clicking on the text does nothing.
    the window you are looking at is the preview of what your website will look like when seen on the web. To replace the pre-defined sample text you must click the button at the top left that says "Edit" and has a little pencil above it.
    Would the Home page and each photo category be a page in RapidWeaver and how are they linked?