Realmac Software

Welcome to the RapidWeaver Community Forums, where you can chat with RapidWeaver users from around the world!

Is this a scam?

arnoarno Perth Western AustraliaPosts: 42Members
Anyone know anything about "Firstpage Banner" supposed to be compatible with RW and places your site banner at the top of search engines. Price seems to be good and much better than adwords .... in my experience.
" ... a boiled egg is hard to beat"

Comments

  • Ed BrennerEd Brenner TexasPosts: 3,332Moderators
    If you could provide a link to the 'service' maybe we can better help with an answer.
    myRapidWeaver
    FreeStack Theme
    MacSupportCasts
    { old forum post count = 6128 }
  • The_Old_WolfThe_Old_Wolf Posts: 1Members
    http://www.firstpagebanner.com/

    I recieved this in my email today, which led me here after a bit of poking around:

    Hello If you are using Google AdWords or other pay per click advertising, you probably know that in order to be listed on top of search engine you need to bid highest price per click than your competitors, and you need to pay each time someone clicks on your link on paid search results. In most cases this is too hard and too expensive for most of people, so we developed less expensive and more simple solution. In few words, Our Banner Technology will put your website above all your competitors without Pay Per Click Charges, and you will not have competitors on keywords that you choose during whole year, and if you decide to continue, you'll have first right now renewal. We guarantee you traffic for your keyword and Prime Positioning during whole year. Watch our demonstration video in order to get more info about our technology: http://www.firstpagebanner.info/demo.html Or see our online demo: - Go to our websites Online Demo - Type keyword that you need and your website http://www.utahnaturalsolutions.com in online demo form - Click on Go and you'll see how it will look like For a personal demonstration and pricing, fill out our online quote form, or call us today. Best Regards, http://www.firstpagebanner.info

    The crappy English, along with being spammed in the first place, raises serious questions in my mind about the legitimacy of this service, but I'd be interested in your take.
  • DeFliGraDeFliGra DenmarkPosts: 776Members
    If it looks too good to be true - then it probably is...
    <cheers> DeFliGra | Stacks for RapidWeaver Stacks Plugin </cheers>
    http://www.denflinkegrafiker.dk · http://www.vissenbjergtryk.dk
  • ColorwaveColorwave A rock in the middle of the Pacific OceanPosts: 1,174Members
    Odd that I don't see banners for First Page Banner themselves at the top of my Google search results. Google must be broken.
  • Aaron MarquezAaron Marquez United StatesPosts: 544Members
    All they're doing is placing the search engine in an iFrame and your website in an iFrame above the search engine. It is a scam, mark my words.
    Stack Maniac
    Doing All The Coding So You Don't Have To.

    Stacks: RefinedSlidr - Socializr - Pinnr - OldBrowsr - InstaViewr - ImageRoundr - GrayScale - VideoResizr - PageHighlightr - TextRotatr - FancyViewr

    Follow us:Twitter / App.net.
  • arnoarno Perth Western AustraliaPosts: 42Members
    Thank you guys you have confirmed my suspicion that this was smelly.
    " ... a boiled egg is hard to beat"
  • arnoarno Perth Western AustraliaPosts: 42Members
    Another thing that made me suspicious was on their web site they show a photo of a building ( premises?) but give no actual address. I think if I had a two story building as my offices I would be keen to give my address. ALso they do not reply to questions via their support tab.
    " ... a boiled egg is hard to beat"

Leave a Comment

bolditalicunderlinestrikecodeimageurlquotespoiler