Easy way to store and retrieve data

I make virtual escape games, which consist of a linear series of RW pages where solving a puzzle on each page provides the user with a password which they then use to reveal the link to the next page. However, all the pages are independent of one another, as no variable information is carried over from one page to the next.

I would like to start providing players some sort of score throughout the game to bring in a competitive element. It could be adding together time they spend on each page or the number of hints used on each page, or a list of items collected on each page, etc. All of these ideas require some info to be stored from one page and provided back to the user on a later page. Can someone suggest the easiest possible way to add that functionality to my site? I use Foundation 6 and Stacks for everything, so a stack-based solution would be ideal.

I’m not a developer at all, so am looking for a way to store and retrieve data without learning mySQL. I have S4S’s Sentry, which seems like it can pass information on through the URL, but I’ve read and reread the info page, and find it a bit overwhelming. Any easy solutions out there?
Thanks,
Gregory

I wonder if Quizzer could be used for this? @habitualshaker?

2 Likes

I have a feeling that @AndersonUX has Quizzer already and possibly uses it in some of these games. I may be wrong. In any case it doesn’t offer the kind of tracking that he is describing.

If you are using Sitelok for the games though @AndersonUX - which it looks like you are - then you could quite easily use the custom fields available in that to track some of the things that you are talking about. I know @vibralogix was looking at releasing a JavaScript plugin that would make this a bit easier. It would need a bit of coding on your part but am pretty sure that there is no out-of-the-box stacks solution for what you are talking about.