# What should I do with the unsynchronised Markdown files?

**URL:** <https://forums.realmacsoftware.com/t/what-should-i-do-with-the-unsynchronised-markdown-files/57969>\
**Category:** CMS\
**Created:** [October 25, 2026, 8:11pm UTC](https://forums.realmacsoftware.com/t/what-should-i-do-with-the-unsynchronised-markdown-files/57969 "2026-10-25T20:11:00Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Milane\_Zozette](https://dub1.discourse-cdn.com/flex005/user_avatar/forums.realmacsoftware.com/milane_zozette/32/36914_2.png) [@Milane\_Zozette](https://forums.realmacsoftware.com/u/Milane_Zozette)\
**Post date:** [October 25, 2026, 8:11pm UTC](https://forums.realmacsoftware.com/t/what-should-i-do-with-the-unsynchronised-markdown-files/57969/1 "2026-10-25T20:11:00Z")

</div>

I’m currently finishing my website using Elements and CMS. I have a series of texts stored in Markdown files under `CMS > articles collection folder > many_files.md`, and one file under `CMS > globals folder > onefile.md`.

I’m going to upload the site to a web hosting server.

I have a CMS Pro licence, which I’ll be using for my website.

If I understand correctly, when I edit and change a CMS Markdown file online, those changes are not reflected in Elements on my computer.

Suppose that, in a week or a month, I want to change the layout of the homepage or add a new page. I’ll make those changes in Elements and then upload the updated site to my hosting server.

**Question 1:** When I upload the site with its new homepage, if I leave all the old, unsynchronised Markdown files in `CMS > articles collection folder > many_files.md` in Elements on my computer, they will overwrite the files on the hosting server that have been edited online ? Is that correct?

**Question 2:** Should I delete the old Markdown files from the collection in Elements, leaving the folder empty, like this: `CMS > articles collection folder > (empty)`?

**Question 3:** If I upload the site with the new homepage to the hosting server after deleting all the old `many_files.md` files from Elements, will the Markdown files already on the server still be there?

Here is the current structure of my website. What should I delete after the first upload of my site to a web hosting server? :

 ![Capture d’écran 2026-10-25 à 21.02.12](https://europe1.discourse-cdn.com/flex005/uploads/realmacsoftware1/original/3X/d/0/d092b92b93b3ac7f40f54672c87798012247c2c4.jpeg)
