As far as I know, every other plugin works in RW8 apart from RapidCart… users are not going to be happy. This is such a shame, I think you will get plenty of email along with users moving to other systems. You should post on the forum letting users know what’s going, they are already asking…
An updated version of RapidCart (and RapidBot), which will ensure full compatibility with RW8, will be possibly released later this year, while we’ve already published RapidMaps 4, which supports RW8.
I really appreciate how much you take care of our customers and their supposed disappointment, but I believe we can handle it.
We could have released new versions earlier, but decided to hold them back waiting for a stable platform and eager to assess actual user interest around latest RapidWeaver release.
It’s also worth mentioning that back in May all of our perfectly working and constantly updated plugins disappeared from RapidWeaver community because you unilaterally decided that we weren’t providing enough support to customers (and it wasn’t first time a plugin of ours was removed without a valid reason: remember about RapidDocs, some years ago?). We develop cheap and decently documented plugins for RapidWeaver, but unfortunately providing support thru RapidWeaver forum is not part of our business at the moment.
Long story short, given that our products may suddenly disappear at your solely discretion from RapidWeaver Community, we need to carefully evaluate our investment in further developing plugins and supporting upcoming RapidWeaver releases.
Now it’s time for my unexpected advice. As I’ve said, it’s great how much you take care of your users, but never forget about your developers, who made RapidWeaver ecosystem thrive. It’s not kicking plugins out of RapidWeaver community, treating them this way or opening insinuating thread like this one that you’ll make them more loyal.
Thanks for the feedback, and I’ll do my best to respond to your concerns, but as you can imagine today is a bit of a busy day…
We can’t be seen to promoting plugins that are no longer supported, we had so many complaints from users we had to do something about it. We had users telling us we should remove it, and we agreed and removed it. You fixed the situation and started supporting customers again, and we put them back on the community site. I don’t think we were out of line, we’re just trying to make RW the best it can be for existing customers and new customers.
If plugins are outdated and unsupported it reflects badly on our product.
Your customers are our customers too and we want them to be happy, having a plugin that doesn’t work on day one is making our customers unhappy and that’s not good
I’d like to know when you’re planning on shipping the new RapidCart Pro for RapidWeaver 8, as some users on the forum are asking and if you’re not going to answer I’d like to let them know, shall I just say later this year?
There’s also no reason (as far as I know) why the existing plugin won’t work with RW8, so I’m not sure why you’ve stopped it from loading. I think you’ll find a lot of your customers look for alternatives solutions, I’m sure that’s not what you (or us) want
Honestly, we’ve had so many complaints about webdeer from users and developers over the years, that we finally decided to say enough is enough. We don’t want toxic people in our community, and if that means having to ban someone every so often, then that’s what we’ll do. It’s an extreme measure, but he as consistently trolling on the forums. For the record, I think we’ve only done it a few times in over ten years.
We’re dedicated to making RW better for our customers and you guys. We’re just trying to do the best we can, we should all be working together to make this a great platform, the better it does, the more everyone’s business will thrive.
It honestly makes me feel pretty down dealing with stuff like this, I’m just human after all
That wasn’t the case, just have a look at the number of updates published for our plugins.
Fun fact: we’re not currently putting more effort on support then before, but now our support level seems perfectly fine for you.
Acting this way you’re endorsing the complaining of a few forum users, who prefer to publicly moan there instead of jumping on our support site, reading our documentation or simply understanding that providing support doesn’t mean providing consulting services or training courses on web technologies.
Here’s a sample result of this, recently coming from a customer:
He was of course eligible for a free upgrade and received it, but the malice in his words made me seriously think. I’m not going to work this way anymore, accepting to be threaten by a person who can’t even take the time to read an email or a FAQ, fearing for such a terrible “escalation and advertising”.
Having a plugin crashing or being unstable on day one won’t help neither. The main downside here is you’re possibly going to sell a couple less of RW8 copies on launch. My sincere apologies for that. Both of us want it ready for RW8 ASAP, but, hey, if the community offers better supported alternatives, those are the rules of game and I’m perfectly fine with them.
When it will be ready for prime time and tested, a RapidCart Pro version fully compatible with RW8 will be released. As you may know, it’s a plugin used by people to run their business, and a fairly complex piece of software.
Not sure why I need to justify our decisions here. Anyway, underlying changes to RWCodeView and use of undocumented APIs to handle resources made our plugins unstable on RW8. We need some more time to better look into this and, depending the number received, we’ll speed up the development of our updates. You may point users here, but that’s what we’re are already doing with RCP users in RW8.
My personal opinion: Even if you guys now have the support queue again under control (I am just reflecting here the complaints in the past months of users), RC now not working with RW8 throws you back into the same situation as months ago.
You know that people only remember the bad news, not the good.
Maybe it’s time you exchange telephone numbers and have a call or skype. I read a lot of accusations here, which are better to handle in a one-to-one conversation.
I am silent now, just trying to help and mediate between both parties. Cheers!
Okay, so we’ve just been doing a little more testing and we’ve found that an older version of the RapidCart Pro plugin seems to work great with RapidWeaver 8 — It’s version 4.8.0 - https://realmacsoftware.d.pr/RdeH7K — Should we recommend RW8 users use this version for now?
Also, can you be more specific about what’s not working for you? and what do you no longer have access to that you did before?
If you need any help with getting newer versions of RapidCart Pro 4 (or 5) working with RW8, let us know — We’re here to help.
UPDATE: Managed to get hold of RCP 4.10.1, and that also appears to work fine in RW8, so it’s just 4.10.2 that doesn’t work. Can I point people to download 4.0.1 to keep them weaving until RCP 5 comes out?
I am able to reproduce this one using RW build 20045 and 20070. I’m dropping you an email with some details, as an evidence to the court.
Again, this is just one of the issue we need to fix before officially supporting RW8.
And that’s great, but I hope it’s also clear that having all of our plugins pulled from RapidWeaver community during RW8 beta wasn’t exactly an incentive to throughly test RW8, ensure compatibility on day one and continue investing in plugin development.