Triggering JS with Custom Attribute

Hi All -
Sorry for such a newb question but I’m a nurse and this isn’t my primary gig. :slight_smile:

I would like a button on my website to trigger an action using custom attributes, but I just can’t get it to work.

This is the script that I have in the head:

(function(m,r,a,p,t,w,d){
		m['MRAptWidgetObject']=t;m[t]=m[t]||function(){m[t].q=(m[t].q||[]).concat(Array.prototype.slice.call(arguments))},w=r.createElement(a),d=r.getElementsByTagName(a)[0];w.async=1;w.src=p;w.id=t;d.parentNode.insertBefore(w,d)
	})(window,document,'script','https://widget.medirecords.com/scripts/widget.js','mraptWidget');
	mraptWidget('0804be14-6b34-11e9-b2aa-3f1cb47e6e56', 'MhgRB_-7p4NE-hq9bApBUkB6lK0');

In my custom attributes screen in RW I’ve got a “#” in the URL area and the custom attribute reads as:
Name = onclick
Value = function(mraptWidget)

But it’s not working. I know this might seem simple for you guys but for me I’ve been troubleshooting different combinations for about an hour and not getting anywhere. :frowning:

Any help appreciated!
Cheers,
Chris

Hi @Murse

I can tell you function is a reserved Javascript keyword, so you can’t use that in your current onclick value. It confuses the web browser into looking for a named function named ‘function’. I would look at changing it to this in your link:

Name = onclick
Value = mraptWidget();

That works now in telling the function (named mraptWidget) to run when the link is clicked. Although when that link is clicked, the console is saying:

[MR Appointment Widget] Cannot initialize, no pid/token provided!

So either you have given us a fake pid/token here on the forums or your code is still missing something vital for it to function.

Another thought I’ve had is that this appointment company might be wanting you to pass the pid/token directly as parameters within your onclick function call like this:

Name = onclick