What are stacks?

I’m new to RW (but not to website design), and trying to figure out how the app works. I’m very confused about how to create a free-form design, with text and images free-floating around the page. I think the answer is stacks? What are stacks? And are they built into RW 6? I see on the “Manage Add-Ons” in RW 6 that there’s a tab for Stacks… so do I also need to buy Stacks 3 then, or is it built it?

Stacks is an AMAZING add-on plugin.

Check it out in Yourhead

http://yourhead.com

Been so long since I purchased it, I can;t remember if there is a demo, but I am pretty sure there is. It really is a stunning piece of software, I could not imagine creating a site with out it anymore!

There are also Tutorials here in the RW site that will walk you through it as well.

Blessings,
—Mark

What @caffeineinjection said. But if you know about web design and you can code, the HTML page type that’s built into Rapidweaver will let you do everything you can do with, for example Sublime Text and ‘real’ HTML code. In which case you don’t need to buy anything extra at all. (Though Stacks is what makes RW fly).

RW takes a bit of getting your head round but once you do, it’s a fantastic platform for building sites quickly.

And if by ‘free floating’ you mean you wantg to be able to plonk stuff wherever you like there are several themes (extra purchases) that let you do just that - Freestack Responsive and Joe Workman’s Foundation.

Keep playing and keep asking questions and you’ll work out the best way forward for you.