Calling different styles on the same page(s) for accessibility reasons

I have been asked to build a site for a local association for the blind with accessibilty front and centre.

I am comfortable (having read this post) adding custom CSS via the resources in RW however I’m not sure how to make the site present it’s default styles on first load and then only load alternative versions via a link, as in this site https://www.camsight.org.uk/ (hover over ‘accessibility’ top right)

I am assuming also that the site would need to place cookies to remember the users choice on subsequent visits?

Any help would be much appreciated

Thank you!

Hi Mark, since I’m not a programmer I would handle this with the RWML stack. This is in fact a stack that lets you choose a language and reminds your choice via a cookie. In stead of showing a different language you show a different style.
RWML works with containers per language. You can fill these with whatever you like. So basically you make your website in colour 1 in a first container, copy this container in a second and adapt the style etc.
I don’t use templates, but this perfectly doable in a framework such as Foundry.

It’s just an idea.

Hans

Are you using a template, template + stacks or a framework to build the site?

Thanks Hans, that look interesting! Do you have to create separate pages for the different versions?

Hi Paul, I will be using Foundation 6

Hi Mark,
no you don’t create different pages. If you are using Foundation6, you shouldn’t have any problems. The project should look a bit like this:

Instead of changing a language, you change content in the different RWML Wrappers. Take a look at this multi language site and imagine the language option buttons to be ‘view option’ and the different languages as different styles.
So, you make a complete webpage in a container and place this in a RWMLWrapper (normal view), then copy this container in a RWMLWrapper (dark view) and so on per view.