Foundation Blog CMS vs Poster Stack

I’m new to Rapidweaver and finding it a steep learning curve (after making my websites on Iweb for years). I like the flexibility with Foundation and so I have been working with it for a week now. I am using it to remake my websites for some philosophy courses I teach at a university. Now I am trying to figure out how to add a blog page and now I’ve come up on this question of using Workman’s CMS blog or Poster Stack. I don’t really understand CMS. It looks like that is useful for companies that have multiple users. I am a single individual so it seems like I don’t really need CMS. Then I found Poster Stack and am considering buying it. It says I need Rapidweaver 7 and Stacks 3.5 which I have. But it also says I need something called PHP 5.6. I don’t know what that is. Now I’m back to wondering if I should just get CMS. In addition to my philosophy course pages I need to rebuild my pages for my ceramic art. (My Iweb pages are still up at http://tfreeman.net/Ceramics/Welcome.html). So my general question is, should I learn CMS? Is it valuable for a single person or is it necessary only for companies with multiple users? And then, if I don’t try CMS, is Poster Stack the best option? And what is PHP 5.6?

PHP runs on the server - Most (all?) hosting accounts provide it.- check your hosting plan to be sure.

TotalCms (and others) would allow you to add posts from a browser ie. (anywhere you have an internet connection). There are many, Many more features to aTotalCMS than just a blogging platform but I won’t go into that here.

Poster Stack which is also nice and flexable will require you to add from within Rapid Weaver and publish each time.

3 Likes

Just to let you know, Total CMS requires PHP 5.6 as well. Also, if you are looking into what version of PHP, I would suggest asking your host service to up your PHP to at least 7.1 as PHP 5.6 and PHP 7.0 will be end of life (meaning no more updates) at the end of 2018.

1 Like