How to backup a blog with IFTTT?

There is lots of talk on these forums about blogging platforms. After lots of research trying to find what fits my needs the best, I have settled on @nimblehost Armadillo. I have been using it for several months now and and quite pleased with MOST aspects of Armadillo.

For me, the most glaring problem is I have no backups. Although Armadillo has a built in backup feature, it does not work with many hosts including mine, which is ChillidogHosting. I have talked to both developers (Nimblest and Chillidog) and there are a few ways to do this with lots of jumping through hoops every time I post a new blog. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

So, I have turned my attention to IFTTT (If This Then That) to see if I can automate backups somehow. My current thinking is that if I use a certain tag (#backup, for example) in Pocket (a save for later service), that will serve as a trigger to copy text for a blog page or make the blog page into a PDF. This text of PDF could then be sent to a folder on my Dropbox. I’m pretty sure this is doable. I just can seem to get it to work… yet.

Here are a few ways other IFTTT users are connecting Pocket and Dropbox:

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. :slight_smile:

@firedude2894 Okay, I know I may not be answering your real question, but here’s some things to consider …

• it is very easy to backup and download the mySQL database that houses all your Armadillo post
  • it is pretty easy to store all your posts in another app. Personally I store all my posts for a particular website within Scrivener. (I do this since all the content for a website is stored in Scrivener.) The main caveat here is that I do all my writing in Markdown. So easy transfer from Scrivener to Armadillo. I don’t think it’s particularly important that you use Scrivener. For example, iA Writer, Byword, and Ulysses (just to name 3) are also very good Markdown editors.