Amazon servers so sloooow

I notice quite a few people including RW stack / plug-in developers use Amazon US web servers. From the UK, I notice that they are always very slow to load - anyone else notice this?

Absolutely. Also from Germany - AWS loading is often very very slow. I love Weaviums G-Sheet stack. But his demo projects are on aws and sometimes very slow to load.

1 Like

I can’t comment on the speed, but I’ve been using Digital Ocean for a few years now. Their prices are inexpensive, uptime has been 100% for years, and the give me full control over a VPS (virtual private server – which lets me run Nginx or Apache or Node or whatever suits me (currently Php running on Nginx for the YourHead server).

I get to choose where the server is located. I always choose New York. Most of my customers seems to be in California, the UK, and Germany – with sprinklings everywhere else – choosing London or New York seems the most centrally located. I choose New York – not really for any tech reason, but just to avoid any complications of running a business in multiple countries.

I’m curious what sorts of speeds folks see for the main YourHead page. If you have hard measured data (include your own bandwidth of course) I’d be curious.

BTW: if you are looking for a great VPS style web host, please consider Digital Ocean – if you use this link I get a month of free hosting. Thx: https://m.do.co/c/de869f7e936b

1 Like

Just been to about 10 of your pages including the YouTube links - very fast from here (UK).

Not secure tho??

How is the speed on https://www.yabdab.com pages?

the content that needs securing (the web-store, credit card transactions, the plugins themselves, and publishing content) all use the latest best SSL signing/encryption/etc.

but why is the site not HTTPS? it’s a long story. i don’t really want to send the thread off the rails.