Beginner Advice

So I now have RapidWeaver 8 and Foundation 6 and have created a basic website using one of the stock templates. I am not a developer by any means I used to have a Word Press website which I paid someone to create for me. However, I found WordPress has an almost endless amount of free plugins.

These plugins in RapidWeaver seem to be called stacks and almost all of them cost something.
I have to admit I am not really that impressed with Stacks foundation 6. Example it has a contact form inbuilt with it which seems to be worse than the stock contact from inbuild in RapidWeaver 8.

*Even this native contact form I can’t get to work!

With WordPress, I could easily install a plugin and test it and if I didn’t like it I could remove it.
But with RW I have to pay it would seem then if I don’t like it …i loose out.

Maybe it is just me but all I want is to have a nice contact form and I’m struggling to even do that!

Any help would be appreciated.

1 Like

@ukmercenary I understand you are frustrated but you are also over generalizing. Yes, WP has a lot of free plugins. But it has more plugins that have a free and a paid version (obviously the paid version has lots of extra features). Then there are plugins that are paid only that tend to be super flexible and powerful. I’m glad you found free plugins on WP that work well for you, but the world of plugins goes well beyond free.

It’s unclear what you are using for your contact form: probably the stack that comes with Foundation 6. I don’t use Foundation 6, but it’s very hard for me to believe it looks worse than the built-in RW contact form. You might want to contact @joeworkman directly who can probably help you with the Foundation 6 contact form.

You may want to check out:

and

Both are run by @willwood. You can download demos of his stacks and see if they meet your needs. If they do then you need to pay.

3 Likes