Rapidweaver to Wordpress.com

Hi Rapidweaver Community,

I have taken the plunge to create my own blogging website on Rapidweaver. I am currently using the wordpress.com platform and find their themes very bland. Is there a way to create everything on Rapidweaver and map the website to wordpress.com? Do i need to be on a business plan?

Your help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Dino

Did you check out following Stack?
http://www.yabdab.com/stacks/wordpress

2 Likes

Hi Jannis thank you for this. Could you explain how this works? I’m new to Rapidweaver. Thank you

I don’t agree that WP themes are bland - plenty of very good ones! However, combining Wordpress and Rapidweaver is a long winded way of doing things even though Yabdab’s stack is bound to be very good. If you are the sole editor of your blog, why not build it in RW, edit it within RW and save yourself all the security issues WP hosting throws up. You can use the built in blog - which is fine but a bit dated - or maybe try the Poster Stack from instacks - which is highly thought of and also useful for other things.

4 Likes

Welcome!

I’m going to +1 @manofdogz, the YabDab plug-in is a great way to pull in your blog, especially if you have a ton of content. You can use it with the free version of WP. My only suggestion is to change your WP privacy settings after you publish your new RW site to make sure Google doesn’t index the WP site.

I’d also agree that, were I in your shoes, I’d build whatever other pages you have on your site using Stacks. It’s the cornerstone of our community. There is a stack for pretty much any functionality that you could want on your site.

There is a learning curve with RW, but tons of helpful people here in the forums. Once you’ve mastered the basics, you’ll be amazed at how much you can do!

For themes, I’d send you to @nickcates over at Nick Cates Design. I’ve used his themes for over 6 years and they are awesome to work with.

Best of luck!

4 Likes