Brainstorming an option for a Humane Society Website

(SF) #1

Dear Collective Hive Mind… I could use some thoughts. I’ve been running a small humane society website for a couple of years as a volunteer. I have it set up with Armadillo so they can easily edit specific pages (like cats & dogs for adoption), and add blog posts as part of their news, etc. Recently they’ve come to me wanting to be able to create pet profile pages.

The idea would be a central page with little thumbnails of the different animals, and clicking on it would take you to the single page write up for that animal. (You can see an clumsy example of one site using something similar here by clicking on adopt-a-dog: http://www.calgaryhumane.ca/adopt/animals-for-adoption/ ) Ideally I don’t want them to have to go out to an outside solution for it, like in this example.

I have a few ideas, (Armadillo supports multiple blogs for instance, I could see a way of making that work), but I thought I would toss it out and see if smarter minds might have a better/simpler solution.

We’re about to do a full redesign, so different CMS options, etc, are all on the table.

Thanks!

(Paul Russam) #2

This is an architects site I did, it uses TotalCMS for the blog but I’m sure you could do something similar in Armadillo http://www.dma-ni.com/dma_projects/
Each project is a blog post, I can easily add, edit, sort, filter, promote etc a project, if you picture my projects as animals you could easily categorise them as cat, dog, age, colour etc.
I’m not familiar with Armadillo but in TotalCMS I can have one blog (all the projects) but on one page have a list of only houses and on another only offices (cats, dogs etc in your case) it makes administrating much easier.

(SF) #3