How clean and semantically correct is output code?

There are increasing comments online about outputting semantically correct code and also outputting as small a footprint as possible.

A number of articles state that drag and drop apps are woeful, producing a huge amount of unnecessary code that doesn’t properly follow modern semantic rules and that this can give poor performance as well as take up much more bandwidth for high traffic sites.

As I’m no expert I thought I’d ask here. How does RW fare in this and are there any comparison’s between other apps like Pinegrow and Blocs?

It’s a very interesting question and one which I’ve spent quite a bit of energy on over the years. Seems to me that the vast majority of folks using RW are not going to care too much as long as their visitors can paste in the URL and the page loads they are pretty much happy.

How those sausages are made is another question entirely though. Most of the page generators, and this includes RW, will include some bloat,. This can take the form of html elements (usually wrappers), unused CSS and JS and so on.

The way I tend to think about it, with anything other than hand made pages, is to try to worry less about all the weight and impact of the ‘stuff’ you didn’t ask for, but instead focus on measuring and evaluating the quality of the user experience.

That said, there are use cases I deal with now where only hand made pages are going to cut it. These are pages where there are other reasons to care about how they are crafted.

I was going to go on… but this topic is actually an industrial grade rabbit hole.

You might find this interesting. Oxygen for WP tries to be smarter:-

4 Likes

The code and semantics will very much depend on the framework/theme being used, and also your knowledge of how to markup stacks with the correct semantics.

Some tools make this easier to do than others.

1 Like