Rapidweaver Upgrade Query

Hi all, I have been maintaining a website for a few years using Rapidweaver 5 on Mountain Lion o/s, using the Veerle theme

I have now upgraded to a MacBook Pro M1 with Big Sur o/s

The question I have is, before I spend £80 on RapidWeaver 8.7 for my MacBook, will I still be able to maintain my website using the existing theme?

Many thanks in anticipation.

RW5 is really old. There was a conversion path to get from RW5 to RW8, but honestly the Internet has changed drastically since the days of RW5. The world has gone mobile, and that means websites must now be responsive.

The older RW5 themes were for fixed-width websites.

So you might use the old theme, but you probably wouldn’t want to. RW8 comes with several themes that are responsive and would work much better for the modern web.

1 Like

That’s helpful, thank you. I guess I just wanted to avoid having to make fundamental changes to many dozens of pages, but I guess some proactive maintenance is inevitable. It may be an opportunity to bring the website into 2021.

OK I have downloaded the new version of Rapidweaver from the App Store at £79.99 before realising I could have applied for an upgrade at £51 - so that’s a waste of £30 unless there is a way around that?

Secondly, I cannot open my RW5 website. I get an error, “This document was created with an older version of Rapidweaver…”

I have searched the error and have seen a few users run into this issue before, and there are a lot of helpful links on the forum. The problem is these help links are now dead! Can anyone help with a link to resolve this issue? I have tried to find without success.

Many thanks!