Stacks3 and RapidWeaver8

Hi,
I am new to Rapid Weaver, and I started with Rapid Weaver 8, not had any of the older ones.

My question is: if I buy Stacks 3, will that give me additional options for adding features to rapid 8 themes, or is Stacks made more for if you want to create sites from scratch without using a theme, which the Rapid Weaver 8 comes packed with.

I have looked on YouTube at reviews and I can’t seem to figure it out. If it’s to build sites without using the pre-made theme templates, so if that’s the case would stacks be paired with Foundations or Foundry.

I am new to this forum, and looking forward to learning Rapid Weaver.

Many thanks in advance.

Stacks 3 is a plugin, in RapidWeaver terms that equate to a type of page. You can use the stacks plugin on any theme you want. If you want to build a site with one of the “frameworks” like Foundry or Foundations you will need to have the stacks 3 plugin installed. These Frameworks require stacks(both the Plugin and stacks add-ons) to build a site from the ground up

@teefers

Many thanks for that.

I intend on buying Stacks 3, so I will. Based on what I have seen online, most people who use RW have the Stacks 3 add on.

RE: Stacks3 - Let me just confirm… YES… you want Stacks3. I wouldn’t consider using RW without it. When you get it learn how to use/make stacks Partials. It will save you time and trouble later on if you have global changes. https://vimeo.com/136154079

1 Like

Many thanks.

Let me also note that many (most?) 3rd party stack developers (and there’s lot’s of them) are active here most every day. They are a valuable help to this community. There are many, many, stacks you can add to Stacks3. Some do major things, some minor, some minor that turn out to be major! I highly suggest watching this forum every day looking for new stack announcements and “what stack will do this?” type posts.

1 Like