How to upload via Transmit

Hello,

I’d like to ask for help with uploading my current RW project via Transmit (FTP), something I’ve never done before. I am brought to this step because starting today, RW 8.8.1 suddenly and without provocation, stopped publishing normally, and instead consistently terminates in-progress attempts to publish on my iMac running 10.14.6.

The program waits till the last moment…

Screen Shot 2021-04-08 at 19.12.26

Then throws this at me:

Screen Shot 2021-04-08 at 19.12.41

In earlier posts, I see that others suggest using FTP to upload files for those occasions when RapidWeaver is having a tantrum. Thus, I’d like to ask for step-by-step instructions for uploading a project directly.

Thank you for any assistance you can offer!

Cheers,

John

Do you have space remaining on the server? Stopping the upload part way though might suggest there isn’t any host space left?

Remember that RW NEVER deletes anything off the server, so it’s quite easy to fill the available space as you develop a site.

If there isn’t any space left, then Transmit won’t help I’m afraid. Do you have a control panel (cPanel) or similar login to the server to see what’s going on?

As @Ruyton suggested, you might not have enough space on server. Of course, cPanel could be used. But Transmit certainly still can be helpful and is my preferred method of uploading/editing my websites.

First, create a folder on your desktop – for ease of finding it and transferring it with Transmit. Use this folder as a target for the complete local export.

Using Transmit, log in to your server. In the folder where your domain lives, delete all files that were placed there by Rapid Weaver. Make sure that you don’t delete any other files, like your SSL certificate, etc.

Finally, upload contents of your locally exported folder to the folder on server.

If you need more detailed instructions, let us know.