As a new Weaver the GDPR is really putting me off

Hi people. I am still learning the software, and on my quest, on these forums and in general online the whole GDPR thing has really confused me. My first site would be a Rapid Weaver 8 theme with som adjustments from Stacks.

I would want to build a personal site, or two. I have seen some privacy tabs on sites and they have reams of text. How the heck would you know what to write. It seems very complicated for a beginner.

I saw one website and he has has blocked all EU access to his site, so I can’t view it, but that’s one way around it, if you don’t want any EU visitors.

Trying to make a few steps forward but keep getting complications. It all looks like a load red tape to me, which I hate with a passion.

Where are you located, geographically?

Britain, UK.

If it’s a personal site, I wouldn’t be too afraid. Even if you don’t collect any data, sell any goods, or use any analytics integration.
I guess @tav and @willwood can give best answers regarding UK. For Germany, this would a different story :wink:

1 Like

Thank you.

I am not sure what sort of site as yet. There’s not a one size fits all with this, so it seems. I have seen some stacks or add ins like Cockie Jar but I am not sure if I need those or not. It’s all left be very confused and annoyed that things have to get complicated.

I am sure I am making more about it than I need to, but being this new into this, I find it very off putting, to say the least.

The easiest approach:

1. Choose a theme advertising itself as being GDPR compliant
  2. In Stacks, opt to use local versions of jQuery / Font Awesome in the settings
  3. Avoid any analytical scripts or plugins (e.g. Google Analytics, Hit Counter or GoSquared)
  4. Don’t use 3rd party content or scripts (e.g. social media share buttons, Google Fonts or YouTube embeds)
  5. Put up a simple privacy policy page - many free generators or templates exist for these