Customising Blog / Split Theme

Hi there,

So I am new to Rapidweaver, and have created my new site with it - action ecology.com - and generally am happy with the look of the Split theme overall (though I am intending to come back when I have more time and maybe re-build using Stacks to tweak a few things) - however, I am not happy with how the standard ‘Blog’ page lists posts and I can’t find anywhere to edit or customise this.

Even when creating a new site (with no theme) it seems that the standard Rapidweaver blog page has no place to customise much.

What I am looking to do is:

1. Be able to include an image thumbnail (preferably) next to the summary paragraph (the blog page looks quite bland with just text)
  2. Be able to adjust font and/or type size of the blog page
  3. Also easily insert images and lay them out in some WYSIWYG way within the posts themselves (or pages for that matter) - adjust thumbnail size / text wrapping etc. without having to learn code (if at all possible).

Sorry if these seem like noob questions but these sorts of things always seemed much easier and intuitive to me in iWeb (less so in Dreamweaver before that) and I need a couple of pointers.

(Note: I have also purchased stacks 3 and - after some initial playing am hoping there is some way that I can use that to create what I want, but I’m not finding Rapidweaver as intuitive to use as iWeb was for basic font/image/layout stuff …so far).

Thanks in advance.

Thanks @actionecology!

1. You can add an image in the blog, reduce it’s size and go to “format > align left” to do that. For something more automatic Stacks like rwwriter.com have built-in thumbnails

2. You can adjust font size in the Split theme settings!

3. For a WYSIWYG way in Pages, Stacks will help you with that. For Blogs it’s not that simple and format align left / right is the pretty much the best you can do in that case.

Be great to hear how you get on!

2 Likes

Thanks for all your help!