Embed a video on my site

Hi, folks.

I’ve never tried to embed a video on a site before and I need to put one on my home page. Can anyone help me?

Hi @LarryTheMarketer

The VIDEO stack from yuzoolthemes is designed to do exactly this. See what you think:
https://www.yuzoolthemes.com/themes/video/

What exactly is the problem you need help with? I self-host a video on one of my sites using Joe Workman’s HTML5 video stack and it’s very easy. Just upload the video to the server via FTP then link to it inside the stack.

1 Like

The problem is, I’ve never embedded a video to a site before and, frankly, I’m a techno-moron just learning this stuff. I really have no idea what I’m doing. I just know I need to put a video on my home page. To show you what a moron I am, I’m afraid I don’t know what FTP is. I’ve seen it before, but I don’t know what it is. Does HTML5 video stack have detailed instructions that a techno-moron can follow?

Thank you. Does this stack come with detailed instructions that even a techno-moron like myself can understand and follow?

I think we’ve all struggled with web design at some point and I know I have so I guess we are all in the same boat there :grin:

FTP is short for file transfer protocol and it’s a system used for uploading or downloading files to the server where your site is hosted. Some cost money but there are also free ones available. I use Yummy FTP Pro but there is a free one here that should do the job. http://viperftp.com

You would need the FTP details for your domain that can be obtained from the web host but you should have it somewhere already if you have a site online. Just drag and drop the video so it uploads to your site. Once it’s uploaded you just add the URL of the video in the settings of the stack and preview to make sure it appears. Then publish. There is comprehensive documentation here https://docs.joeworkman.net/rapidweaver/stacks/html5-video