Greeting, and confused about Stacks, Foundry, etc

Greeting from a complete newbie! I bought the Rapidweaver as part of Black Friday Mac app bundle. Definitely a great value, as I have a need to make a simple website.

I am not sure the Rapidweaver website is crystal clear on the relationship between Rapidweaver, Stacks, etc. So please help me with the following questons (or confirm my understanding):

1. Rapidweaver can already make simple website with all the built-in themes and functions, but it won’t do more complicated page layout (like having more columns) without stacks

2. Is “Stacks” a plug-in for Rapidweaver? (the one on the store for $49 by YourHead) Is this “Stacks” required to run all the other (800 presumably) stacks?

3. Is the “Foundry” also a “stack”? Can the “Foundry”, function without having the “Stacks”?

4. Now about the additional themes on the store, do they need anything beyound the basic Rapidweaver installation to function properly? Do they need me having other plug-ins?

5. Difference between this forum, and the Rapidweaver community website, where the Stacks, themes, etc. are sold? Is that $20/month subscription worth it?

Although I got the Rapidweaver for a great price, I am afraid the “stacks” is where the money is going the most. Maybe I am worrying too much and just stick to the basics first. However the official website tutorial quickly introduced Stacks and Foundry, making me think that these are necessary to get any serious job done.

Thanks for your help!

1 Like
  1. Rapidweaver can already make simple website with all the built-in themes and functions, but it won’t do more complicated page layout (like having more columns) without stacks

You got that right.

1. Is “Stacks” a plug-in for Rapidweaver? (the one on the store for $49 by YourHead) Is this “Stacks” required to run all the other (800 presumably) stacks?

Yes, Stacks is an add on from YourHead software, and is required to run all other stacks.