Is it possible to create a website using only Rapid Weaver 8 and Stacks 4

I am looking to build a fairly simple e commerce site selling through PayPal and I have bought RW8 and Stacks 4. Don’t really want to spend any more on things like foundry etc at the minute until I see if I am going to get on ok with what I have. I am not a pro website builder. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Slainte

If you don’t want to spend on a framework like Foundry, you can find a ready-made theme for that. For example ‘Boutique’ from Theme Flood. Its developer @willwood offers free demo versions of all his products. You can also download the free example website here.

2 Likes

Thanks Rob. I’ll have a look

As Rob @Rovertek mentioned you probably will want to pick out a nice theme if you’re not interested in going with one of the frameworks like Foundry.

Since your interest is in e-commerce you will need some sort of cart function. You might want to have a look at these posts

This one was added after the above post

2 Likes

Thanks Doug

Can I just ask you, are you saying it isn’t possible to create a website using only stacks and not using one of the theme’s?

If you add Source (free!) into the mix then you can definitely build a website with RW and Stacks without spending any more money. (And as an added bonus…it’s made from girders :wink:)

1 Like

RapidWeaver requires a “theme”. You can use one of the ones included with RapidWeaver, there’s also other free themes available.

They’ll work but usually have less options.

Hee Hee. Nice one Stuart. OK I am assuming its not possible with stacks only so I’ll take a look at Source. Thanks

The short answer is ‘yes you can’. You need a theme and Rapidweaver comes with a bundle of themes if you can find one you like. The basic stacks included with Stacks 4 do most of what is essential from a layout perspective, and you can get free/donation stacks with a LOT of extra functionality - particularly from Big White Duck.