Text editing in basic programme

Hi; I am new to Rapidweaver and really struggling with editing text in the basic programme (I have also bought Stacks but haven’t progressed that far yet). I have typed in (from scratch) a couple of short paragraphs and am trying to edit them, to change the size of the text and the font. I move the ‘font size’ slider in the ‘styles’ menu at the right, but nothing happens. I try to change the font using the menu at the foot of the Edit page, but there’s no acknowledgement such as a check mark by the font I want, and when I go into Live view, everything is still in Times. Not only that, but all spacing has disappeared, spaces at the end of sentences, returns for new paragraphs, all have gone in Live view and all the text has run together.
I may be new to RW, but designed our previous website using Freeway and am adept with InDesign. I suppose I was expecting the same facility in changing text size and fonts that you get in those programmes. Any advice much appreciated; this is so basic and incredibly frustrating not to be able to do it. Thanks

I a Stacks guy…and got text I always use BWD Paragraph Pro
So much control!!!
And FREE!!!

Thanks, that’s much appreciated, and I will get into additional stacks at a later date. Right now, I really want to know whether I am doing something wrong, or whether the software is faulty.
Thanks

What page type are you using to enter the text Alison?

Hi Rob; I believe that it is a Styled Text page

Hi, Alison,

Indeed, being familiar with InDesign and/or Freeway doesn’t do you much good when working with RW.

What I would suggest is this: the sooner you’ll start using the Stacks plugin and stacks add-ons, the quicker you’ll become proficient in designing and publishing your website. Without Stacks, RW is rather unwieldy and grossly limited (in my humble opinion).