The mystery of the Contents.plist file permissions

Been trying to publish a new website and I keep getting the attached.

Tried searching for the file withous success. Tried Google without success.

Anyone any idea where this file is and how to stop this happening?

Thanks.

Is the publishing at the end successful? Or doesn’t it even start, and you get this error?

Open the file package of your project (control click) and check the permissions of the content.plist

I think it publishes OK then I get the message. The permissions are OK.Screenshot 2021-06-05 at 11.51.33

Thinking on I cannot find it on my server so perhaps it did not publish.

Are all other files published? This file is part of the RW project file and will never be published.

Did you enable the backup of the project file on the server?

Sorry but I have no idea whjat you are talking about. All my other websites update OK with Rapidweaver just this new one one fails. I am not a Computer expert - this is why I use Rapidwever and have done for years without a problem. This is now becoming annoying.

Therefore I want to help you. Sorry if that’s not wanted. Cheers.

David,
You posted about your problem less than two hours prior to saying that you are annoyed with people on their own time, asking questions trying to help you.

You’ll find that most of the users here will be much more likely to continue trying to help you fix your problem if you drop all the frustration and answer questions they are asking nicely.

The question was about backups on the server, in publishing settings in Rapidweaver, there’s an option to back up your project file to the webserver. Do you have that option turned on?

Do you have any other backups running on your Mac like TimeMachine or Backblaze?

1 Like