A disaster befalls

Despite being what I’d call an ‘experienced’ Mac user, I’ve had a website disaster that embarrasses me to type about.

All the RapidWeaver files of this site have disappeared. Totally. On all backups, offsite and onsite. The site is still active online but I need to alter things. It was created in RW6 and I’ve now upgraded to RW7.

I have my fingers crossed that some genius is able to tell me if it’s possible to pull the files down from the site via cPanel or otherwise. I’m a raw beginner. I’m happy to pay someone!
Cheers
Brad

You can download the files from your host, that’s easy. You can go into cpanel and download what you want or use something like Cyberduck. Unfortunately if you don’t have your RW project file, you will have to recreate the website.

2 Likes

You cannot “pull the files down” with Cpannel, well, not the file you need anyway. To edit the site you need to find the project file on your mac for ver 6 it is a .rw6 file. Do a search in spotlight for .rw6 and see if its on your computer.

I am afraid without that you can’t change the site in RW.

LOL Lisa beat me to it

2 Likes

And as a precaution for the future, zip up your project’s file and keep it as a backup on your hosting server, as well. That way, you will always know where to look for it.

2 Likes

Since RWs Autosave feature has been disabled, I have re-installed ForeverSave2 and am using it with great satisfaction. It backs my project file up in an interval I can determine and helps me to not lose a project file.

Brad,

Oh no! Sorry to hear that. Do you use Time Machine on your Mac? Do ignore if that’s a silly question… Good luck.

I would also recommend SuperDuper which will save a complete bootable backup of your hard disk. I use it to backup every day.