Can RW 7 be used to update an existing site?

I have been creating a website for almost 20 years. For the last several years, I’ve used Freeway Pro which is no longer supported. My site has many pages which I do not wish to change or update. What I would like to do is use RapidWeaver 7 to create new versions of a few pages, including the home page (index.html), and simply use links (in a site-index page that I would create in RW) to the other unchanged pages. It would be virtually impossible to re-create the entire site in RW.

My question is whether it is possible to use RW to publish only the newly created pages to my server without erasing the rest of the page files on my server. So, for example, if I create a home page, an introduction page (introduction.html) and a siteindex page (siteindex.html) and publish that material in RW to my server, overwriting previous pages with those names, will I be erasing the other existing page files or otherwise messing up the current site?

If using the publishing feature of RW 7 wouldn’t do what I’d like, would an alternative be to export the pages created in RW (along with other files exported by RW) to my computer and then simply FTP those files via an FTP app such as Transmit to my site server?

Any thoughts or suggestions on this would be greatly appreciated.

You can ddo what you are asking by using the offsite type of page(plugin). As far as publishing goes you you should be able to do either. You will have to manage you navigation to the older pages (going to the new ones).

Doug, The offsite page plugin would appear to allow the inclusion of another website into the site being created. That’s not quite what I have in mind. I want to simply replace some of the introductory pages in my current site, including the home page, and to continue the same site on the same server.