How do I edit/convert existing website to RW7

I have two old websites, but want to move all to RW. How do I go about it? It doesn’t want to open any of the web pages.

You can not “import” a website into RW. You can however, cut and past the contents of a web site into a new RW project.

Same problem here plus I’m completely new to RapidWeaver. I have an existing website which I would now like to edit. I have access to the backend on the host server. Where can I get a basic guide to editing the existing site in RW?
The site is moderately large and the thought of cutting and pasting hundreds of pages and files could easily drive me mad. Any help will be appreciated.

Hi John(@seadog) and Welcome to the forum,

Just a heads up, you are replying to a 4-year-old post. It’s probably best to start a new post when the only thing you find is that old. Many times the releases and software may have changed quite a bit in 4 years.

Now in this case nothing really has changed. There is no way with RapidWeaver to take an existing site and create a project.

So unfortunately it’s copy and paste. If the existing site uses a lot on resources like images, you might find it easier to use a product like sitesucker. It will not make a project file for you, but will “grab” erverything from the existing site and put them on your local machine.

Thanks Doug ( Teefers) for quick response and will do as you recommend re not replying to an old topic in future.

The website edits I need to make are actually fairly limited, in that only a few of the pages will be subject to changes. If I download the site using sitesucker, can changes then be made to the HTML page files using RapidWeaver? Or can I use RW to replicate the HTML pages to be edited (by copy & paste) and then upload those to the site server? In other words, are pages created in RapidWeaver compatible with existing pages which I think were made using DreamWeaver?