/div errors all over the place

I’m still on RW 5.2.2 and a recent attempt to update my site resulted in it being ususable. I even went so far as to completely reload it but still errors. Specifically, I get a lot of this error:

I have no idea what that means. I am not a programmer and just a retired person trying to manage a website for a non-profit. If you want to take a look at the site, the address is:
www.michiganikes.org
Any suggestions would be appreciated so much!

The error text I entered does not show up here.

less than, followed by div and then id and then myExtraContent1 and greater than.

Sorry, I don’t know how to get the text I enter to be accepted. Please look at the site to see what I mean.

Duane,

I can explain what happened. But I fear that fixing it could be tough if you’re not wholly familiar with the mechanics of HTML (in the RapidWeaver environment).

A web page usually consists - at least these days, unless it’s remarkably simple - of multiple resources in addition to the basic HTML.

These include images, scripts (such as JavaScript) which control a huge range of things… the behaviour of animations, user responses, order of loading, management of other scripts and so on.

The (textual) content does consist of sentences, phrases, words, of course. But its formatting (how it displays, colour, font, size and breaks etc) is determined by external files which are part of a unifying system called Cascading Style Sheets. RW almost always builds and controls these Styles using a precisely-constructed hierarchy of external files which reside on the server alongside your text and images etc.