Manually Minify CSS

Hello!

I’m working on a project using Joe Workman’s Foundation theme and assorted Stacks. Running RW6 & S3. I have the consolidate CSS option enabled.

One of the CSS files “stacks_page_page19.css” publishes at about 430KB, the biggest file on the page. I use Cloudflare to auto minify CSS/JS on other sites, but I’m not using Cloudflare on this particular project.

Without using Cloudflare, can I safely use a tool like https://cssminifier.com/ to minify the CSS and then upload the file to the server overwriting the RW published CSS file? I’ve never done this before and am a bit out of my depth.

Thanks!

Hi @casualpilot,

This CSS file is generated by RapidWeaver. So, after you exchanged the CSS file with a minified version, and re-publish with RapidWeaver, it is likely that the minified version gets replaced by the original one again.

But I guess the browser will cache the file after first loading, so additional requests to that page should load the CSS file from cache.

Jannis

Given the caveat that @instacks mentions above (i.e. you will over write the file when republishing), there is a nice little app that is much easier to use than pasting CSS into an online minifier

You can find it here http://25.io/smaller/

Many people use this by simply exporting their sites, minifying the contents and then manually uploading via ftp. Obviously this is long winded if you are continually republishing but for a finished site it is quite a nice solution.

2 Likes

Perfect. So as long as I’m willing to accept the extra step, I shouldn’t have any trouble.

Thanks for your help!

Do you know if your server is set to gzip your files?? That would help decrease the size as well.

We’re looking at ways to minify CSS and Javascript in RW7.x. I can’t promise anything, but I’d love to add this at some point too :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Another great idea.

I thought it was, but in checking, it isn’t. I’ll have to have my host enable.

+1 @tav