More Bigger & Better Publishing Woes

Folks,

I swear uploading a site is getting worse, not better. I’ve been trying to get mine uploaded since last night - left it overnight in the end, but it didn’t work. I’m now reduced to doing individual pages one at a time. I’m getting ‘time outs’, ‘can’t connects’ and more. But the most annoying thing is this:

1. publishing a page and RW declaring there are 39 elements to upload
  2. having that publishing process hang at 38 elements
  3. restarting the process immediately (without changing a thing) and being told there are 453 elements to upload

Can someone explain how that can possibly happen? Where did the other 400 elements suddenly come from?

I’d export and use Filezilla, but the export seems unable to actually export the whole site - so when I did that, half the elements didn’t work. I’m no novice - I used to hand code in the mid-nineties, have set up and run servers, etc. So I do know something that is broken when I see it.

As I write, RW is uploading some .doc files from resources - these have no relationship whatsoever with the page I am uploading. I love RW, but publishing is so broken it takes all the fun out of the rest of it. Can’t upload a project file, I’m afraid - it’s too big.

But please, please, please could you sort this out before you add in any unnecessary bells and whistles next time round?

Thanks,

Gavin

It’s that bad, I’m replying to myself…

I have a video background on my front page. It’s been uploaded about 30 times so far. It’s currently being uploaded again as part of publishing a page which has no connection with the video at all, nor any connection with the front page.

Thanks for your thoughts - and your time. I’m removing the video today, anyway. And yet…