Pre-purchase question on recreating my existing site

Hi gang!

I am previewing RapidWeaver 6 to purchase as part of the MacUpdate $55 bundle, and have a few questions. I’ve also watched the ScreenCastsOnline two-part tutorial, which makes using RapidWeaver pretty nice.

A bit of history: I first started web publishing in 1995 using Adobe PageMill. What a horrible HTML tool that was! Didn’t follow any convention, and filled the page with garbage code. After a year of fighting PageMill, I switched to the then new Optima Systems PageSpinner, a raw HTML editor with a few templates and tools to plug into the page. Sort of a BBEdit light. I’ve been using PageSpinner for the past 16 years, and my pages have been pretty rudimentary, with very little scripting, CSS, etc. Pretty much a 1996 HTML 101 class level.

Four years ago, I started building a much more complex weather-related site, with menus on each page, scripts, local templates filled by a weather application before publishing on the web, CSS, etc. Much of this has been copy/pasted from various sources as well as templates from the weather software community.

Some of the content goes directly to the server after editing HTML (I’m currently manually FTPing it using ForkLift), and others go to a local watched folder after HTML editing to be populated by the weather software and automatically FTP’d to the server.

Can RapidWeaver do this? I currently don’t have a header/footer, and each page’s menus are copy/pasted to each HTML page when I make changes. I think CSS can do this, but one line of the footer would have to go through the weather software to get populated, or else I’d need to change it with every software update. (It currently polls the software version and populates the HTML page. I think I’ve attached an image of my file structure in Forklift.