Question re Pros & Cons of using png for banner images

Does using png images (photographs) for banners significantly slow download time for viewers? What do most photographers use? In other words, is there ever an advantage to using png rather than jpegs for banners and page backgrounds to preserve best quality?

I’m using latest version of everything - RW7, High Sierra, etc. Thanks!

I am a photographer, although I try to avoid using banners (png or jpg alike) – to avoid adding unnecessary weight to my image- and text-heavy pages.

Is there any advantage of using png over jpg images? Only if you need transparency in your images.

2 Likes

This Stack Overflow post (accepted answer) is spot on :

PNG is better for crisp images with a low number of colours,
JPG is better for a low-bandwidth image - however, it is not as crisp and therefore not very good for GUI.
Generally, JPG is for photos and pictures, whereas PNG (or GIF) is for layout.

5 Likes

Most banners and backgrounds don’t need to be high quality, as that’s probably not where you want the users to focus. There are exceptions to that, but for the most part, having them lighter in weight because of the large size of the images I use a jpeg.

In fact, I would probably suggest you soften the image first with your favorite photo editor, and then compress it. Soft photos compress much better than sharper images.

3 Likes

Wow - I didn’t know that. Great tip - thanks!
Judy

1 Like

Thanks - that helps - especially regarding colors - didn’t know that either!

That’s great coming from a photographer. Thanks so much!
Judy

PNG: lossless compression, transparency
JPEG: lossy compression
GIF: animated, limited transparency, limited color, limited compression

PNG

PRO

• since the compression is lossless no detail will ever be lost from the image. this means every pixel is guaranteed to look perfect. there will never be blur added or colors faded.