What sizes should be my images be when trying to use in a galley?

I am a graphic designer who works with both Photoshop and illustrator. I want to build a website to promote myself and my work. I want to upload my artwork to create a galley and I have watched the videos for beginners and I would like to know what is what is the maximum and best pixel size that I should uses when I insert them into a galley. Another words, what in the best height and width to save my work after I use save to web in Photoshop?

I was looking for similar info a few days ago. I didn’t find anything definitive, but in @ben’s foundation tutorial, his image was 1500 pixels wide and then put through Squash or image optim or ‘save for web’ in Photoshop. JPEG for photos and PNG for graphics or anything where you want a transparent background.

A recent search should show the longest thread in history about whether or not you should warehouse.

Hopefully that might help until someone much cleverer comes along.

Hi, Steven,

I don’t pretend to have all the answers on this topic, but I am a photographer so I tend to put quality of image before and above a small file size. However, the balance of the two must always be taken into account.

First thing you need to address is the way you prepare your raster-images for Internet. Be aware that not only pixel size affects the “weight” of an image file. Things like sharpness, brightness and contrast also play a role. Generally, the more of them, the heavier a file becomes. So, if you need big dimensions, consider lowering sharpness, brightness and contrast (sharpness influences file size the most, or at least, is the easiest to manipulate).

Next, image dimensions – they should be same as intended dimensions for displaying in a browser. It’s best not to let RW decide their size and proportions. So, as far as I know, the maximum size should be 1,200px wide. Personally, I don’t use photos for banners, but those who do, use the maximum width of 1500px.