RapidWeaver 8 - Corrupted Project When Using Multiple Macs for Editing

Hi. I’m new to RapidWeaver and have started building a site but have encountered a problem with project corruption.

My setup:
(Me) iMac Pro (2017) macOS Catalina 10.15.2 Catalina 3GHz 10-Core Xeon W 128GB
(Wife) iMac Retna 5K 27" (2019) macOS 10.14.6 Mojave 3.6GHz i9 32GB
Drobo 5N2 NAS
RapidWeaver and Stacks are installed on both Macs and my family.rw8 file resides on the Drobo NAS. The RapidWeaver and Stacks versions are the same on both Macs.

Use case:
The plan is for both of us to be able to work on designing our sites but not at the same time. RapidWeaver would be closed on one Mac before opening it up on the other Mac.

What happened:
I’ve worked for several days to learn the basics and have had zero problems modifying, saving and publishing a test site. Today, I closed RapidWeaver on my Mac and had my wife open it on her Mac. She had zero problems modifying, saving and publishing using the same family.rw8 file that I had saved on the NAS using my Mac. After she closed RapidWeaver I opened the family.rw8 file on my Mac and received a popup message that a blog post had been corrupted. On further inspection I found that several of the changes she had made, saved and published were not showing on my Mac. When I looked at the directory on the NAS where the family.rw8 file is stored I found that I had both the family.rw8 file and multiple new directories that look like temporary files of some sort. (picture attached)

Am I doing something wrong by sharing *.rw8 files between multiple Macs as long as the file is only open on one Mac at a time? Is storing the file on a NAS a know problem? Is there a way to recover lost work from these extra directories? Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks.

-don

It shouldn’t cause a problem sharing a file but it has!