Retrobatch and Image Optimization

I have some questions about batch processing in general and Retrobatch in particular.

I am new to batch processing. The only processor I have worked with so far is PhotoBulk. I was very impressed with how quickly and elegantly it resized photos. The version I am working with has the ability to resize only or resize AND Optimize.

I have also watched as many videos as I could find about Retrobatch.

As near as I can tell they are similar in function except that Retrobatch can create up to 8 different image sizes and additionally has some extra functionality with respect to cropping for device size and other composition tricks.

I may have this wrong but Retrobatch does not appear to have any built-in image optimization other than serving up the optimum size image for the device that is looking at it.

Is this observation accurate?
If so, is additional optimization necessary and where in the cycle would this occur?

I am getting ready to create a social media campaign for my company. We may embrace Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or whatever else comes along. Each of these platforms presumably have optimal size image content.

Could I use the results from Retrobatch to create a stack of images for each of these platforms?

I’m surprised there was no answers for this post so far…

Your observation is correct. I think it’s the right decision on the part of Retrobatch developer. That way, you can use the app of your choice for image optimization. Although it would be nice if there was a facility to automatically open such app. In my copy of Retrobatch ‘Open in App’ is grayed-out, for some reason. I just started using Retrobatch recently, so it’s possible I am missing something.