Should I use Rapidweaver to help me build pages in 'Smartershot'? Urgent help please

Hi all,

I’m not sure that Rapidweaver CAN help me, but I’m hoping that you guys can advise me on the way forward, I’m in a bit of a rush for answers on this one too.

My client wants me to take over his email campaigns using ‘www.smartereshot.co.uk’, so that I create the campaigns which then get sent out via email to his clients.

I believe that the previous designer was somehow ‘fetching content’ from his own server, (see pic 1 with blue graphics) so he was able to make email campaigns that had lots of graphics and html text intermixed.

My options are to do the same, or to start from scratch inside the software. Looking at the basic Smartershot html edit page (see pic 2), I don’t see how I can easily create the sort of graphics that were done before, so I can keep the majority of text as html, (I’m no expert when it comes to html layouts). My gut instinct would be to stick to flat jpgs but the client might not be happy with that.

What’s the best way forward. Can I build these pages in Rapidweaver and fetch content? Does it even work that way? I need the simplest option which allows for html content and graphics but doesn’t overcomplicate the process.

Many thanks, and I apologise if this is an innapropriate post for this forum.

:-(.

keep it separated! A newsletter is a newsletter, a website is a website. Different audience, different approach. You can create links in the newsletter ( i use MadMimi or Mailchimp for clients) to the website, to generate traffic. Images used on the website can easily be integrated in newsletter (just by donwloading from the site, and uploading to the newsletter system of choice. The newsletter system will generate unique links for all your links, so you can track down the stats of the campaign in the dashboard.
So, don’t make the mistake that a newsletter is a page from your website. It isn’t, it shouldn’t be.

All the best.
Dick Sijtsma

1 Like