Slide Show Frustrations

I’m new to RW and Stacks: my interest is to create a web page to display photo galleries. I have bought Nick Cates Photo, and it is very good in many ways, but I am frustrated with trying to display large galleries of images. The slide show feature is the problem; it does not seem to like galleries of 40 images much. It is good on computers using OSX, but not very good on mobiles using iOS. On iOS It sort of stumbles along and Autoplay won’t work. Nick has said he’ll look again at Autoplay when time permits, but for now I’m out of luck.

As a non-programmer I am somewhat puzzled by the performance of the stack being affected by the number of images. It’s as if it is trying to hold the whole slide show in memory, and larger numbers of images just chokes it. But why would it do that? I could understand a need to read-ahead if there is processing to be done - and of course downloading to be done to deliver the next image for viewing - but why not just stay one or two images ahead of the viewer? If it were doing that it really should not matter how many images were in the gallery.

What I really want is a stack capable of displaying large numbers of images of mixed aspect ratio and large file size (so it can display a large image on a desktop computer with a big screen), and then being able to run a slide show of the images - preferably both manually and with Autoplay.

Any suggestions?

@ianburden I feel your pain. I can’t say why these do this, however are you using the full file size of your pictures? I use Photobulk to reduce my pictures down to 25% of their original size which has helped tremendously in my site. Not sure if this will help before you put them in your slide show but it could help.

You could try this: https://stacks4stacks.com/progallery/

There’s an option to try a free demo before you buy to see if the performance is any better. It shows the images in a gallery and there is a slideshow option built in.

1 Like