Advice please - Password secure area

Hi Gurus

I need to build a password protected area of my website for a subscription service that will give people access to video and photographic content. I know there are many solutions out there, but I’m looking for advice as I’m not a programmers, and a photographer by trade. So the easier the better.

Please, though, don’t take this as an invitation to ask if I want you to run my website. As a photographer I don’t make huge amounts of money and most of it goes on supporting the charities I work with!!

Thanks
Simon

There are several ways to do this and your final decision will ultimately depend on the details of what you need to do for your customers. I create course websites so I need to password protect areas of my websites all the time: sometimes letting the whole class in, sometimes letting only one student have access to a page. The product I use for this is Sitelok. It’s $40 (for your first domain, 50% for additional ones). The developer is a RW user, but the scripts he uses are essentially PHP scripts.

You don’t need to be a programmer, but you will need to FTP some files to your website, create a mySQL database, and do some copy/pasting of key code inside your RW project file. All very doable: even if it’s your first time.

More here: http://www.vibralogix.com/sitelokpw/

1 Like

For what you’re looking for, this would be my first choice too. And, in fact, my only choice.

You mention that the site is a subscription service. Although the aforementioned Pagesafe stack is the easiest means of protecting a page - it doesn’t (to the best of my knowledge) allow for subscription services. Sitelok does - and handles it with unbelievable ease. Users are able to register on-line and you have the option of automatically granting access - or approving (or denying) access after reviewing. User IDs and passwords are automatically generated - and the user has the ability to recover or change the password down the road.