Afraid to upgrade to RW7

I’m using the latest version of RW6 and I really would like to upgrade to RW7. However, I’m afraid to upgrade because of all the problems I’m hearing from other users.

Note: I’m fairly a newbie and I’ve been using RW and Foundation for about 6 months.

Dont be.

RW7 is, by a country mile, the best version of RapidWeaver - even with a couple of glitches here and there. For a x.0 release it is extraordinary. I’ve been using it since beta and I can say - hand on heart - that I have not had a single and I mean NOT ONE issue with it that has in any way caused me any issues.

It runs like lightning.
You can live preview the page in your browser as you go.
You can detach the inspector.
The code window - which I always moaned about is now awesome!
The snippets editor/manager is MUCH better.
The publishing engine (for me, anyway) is rock solid and fast as hell.
Publishing bookmarks are easier to work with.
Meta tag handling is easier.
There is a built in SEO helper.
Projects can be made portable.
You can push a copy of the project out to your host.

…and about a hundred other things that make it a pleasure to use. This feels like the Pro version of RW I always wanted.

Its worth every penny.

4 Likes

Thank you so much for the feedback!

100% totally agree with @kryten After suffering through the release of RW6, I was hesitant about upgrading to v7. But, I hopped on board early-on during the beta period. I was very, very pleased that the RMS guys not only wanted our feedback (bugs and feature requests), but that they were fixing the (few and far between) issues very, very quickly. They pushed the release of v7 back until they were absolutely sure it was going to go smoothly. And, I believe it has.

Since your fairly new to RW6, you might also be happy to know that the RW7 user interface is very similar to v6. You should not have any issues upgrading - there’s no additional learning curve.