Hacking the RW Blog Plugin

Hello Fellow Weavers!

I’ve had a great deal of success with hacking the RW blog plugin and I wanted to share my recipe with the community.

I have a personal blog called Catholic Husband. It’s the space where I process my life. I’ve been writing there since 2013 and have published over 750 articles. In those years, I’ve used many RW blog/CMS add-ons, but I always come back to the plugin. What I’ve learned is that every option has its limitations and every option has
its strong points.

I sincerely hope that the blog plugin gets some new features in RW8.

What I wanted for my particular blog was a custom footer that matched my other pages, a custom sidebar where I could capture email addresses (and the flexibility of adding in stacks in the future), and an author bio at the end of each post.

I’ve found the blog plugin to be quite receptive (after much trial and error) to accepting Stacks pages via PlusKit 4. It should be strongly noted that what I’ve done is not recommended by YourHead:

39 PM

That being said, it works in my specific implementation.

Here’s my recipe:

URL: https://www.catholichusband.org

RW 7.5.5
Stacks 3.5.5
PlusKit 4.1

Writer Theme by Nick Cates Design
Houdini Stack by Joe Workman
Teleporter Stack by Doobox (interchangeable with Houdini)
Post Office Stack by Joe Workman
Author Card Stack by 1LittleDesigner

Hacking the footer

I created a standardized footer partial to apply to all of my pages. This hack will vary based on the theme that you’re using. For the Writer theme, Nick has a social icon container at the base of the theme. So I created a stacks page called “Footer” and imported it using PlusKit.

I placed the footer partial into the Houdini stack and used the following settings:

Custom selector > div#social-icon-container (Writer-specific!) > Top (prepend)

Viola! I now have a standardized footer on all of my pages.

Hacking a Custom Sidebar