Help needed - SQL injection attack in a website with Armadillo installed

Hello, I have a client whose website has been subject to an SQL injection attack. The database that’s been attacked is the one for the Armadillo installation.

I have no experience of this and I am not sure how to solve it. I would really appreciate any advice from someone in the know as to what I can do. I am happy to post the details (of suspicious queries) if it helps?

Can I just republish the site and upload or is it more complex than that? And is there anything I can do to stop this happening again?

Many thanks in advance

Mark

Mark,

I would start by contacting your web hosting company and explain to them what’s happened and what policies they have in place to protect your site.

And Jonathan at NimbleHost, who will almost certainly want to know; and may well be able to advise as well.

Depending on what they each say - especially that the host can and will protect your site from such vulnerabilities in the future (SQL injection means that SQL has been used to upload/run/execute malicious code by someone with access to the database and familiarity with PHP etc), I’d have thought you’d be safe just to republish… provided that your data locally is ‘whole’.

1 Like

Thanks Mark, yes I have also let Nimblehost know and I am hoping you are right about the republish.

Am I right in thinking then, that this is malicious queries only and it doesn’t ‘infect’ the actual database?

As a result of this, I have contacted my own host (the site in question is hosted elsewhere) and they are saying that the servers are protected with ModSecurity and have pointed me in the direction of some more reading. I will post again when I have heard from Nimblehost

Thanks for your reply - much appreciated

Mark,

I am sorry you have this to deal with :-(.