Newbie Question. Sorry

Sorry to be so lame. I’m brand new to RW having been trying to keep afloat with iWeb up until now. Here’s a very basic question that seems obvious but I haven’t been able to solve it. I’m trying to use an exiting theme (Offroad) but change the background color of the main content box. Is this not possible? I’m not afraid of a little CSS code but I just don’t know what object I should be calling.

If you look at the settings on the right it seems as though you can change both the background colour and the opacity of the background overlay just by selecting each coloured box in turn and then using the colour picker to alter the colours to your preference. I don’t have the theme I’m afraid, so I can’t check.

Welcome to RW. Once you get the hang of things, you’ll love it.

Rob
PLEASE IGNORE my dufus reply. Didn’t read message carefully enough!

Hi - don’t apologise, ask away…

I could not find the option to change that colour in the theme, but a little CSS snippet does the trick. Just put this in the page or global CSS container depending on whether you would like it applied to just that page or all of them.

.site-content-inner {
    background: yellow;
}

You’ll want to change the ‘yellow’ to something that suits your project, naturally.

2 Likes

Great! Thanks so much. Exactly what I was looking for.

Now if I could just ask one more?

What if I want to add an image onto this site content box and have it fill the area completely - as if I had just dropped the image onto the background of the site.

So in this example, the photo would entirely cover up the green bg.

It sounds like you would like the image to take on the role of a “hero” style banner and cover the whole landing page? Presumably you would like to add some content further down the page? Is that correct? It may not be possible in this theme (or require a lot of custom CSS to achieve it).