OS Monterey (Developer Beta) Upgrade

Accidentally upgraded to OS12.0 beta, what to do now? Crashes after startup.

I’d say rollback to Big Sur asap, did a quick google and found a video on how to do it — Downgrade from macOS Monterey to Big Sur or Catalina on Intel and M1 Macs! - YouTube

It turns out Monterey doesn’t include a PHP web server, so you won’t have much luck when trying to preview in RapidWeaver 8.x – We’re looking into a fix and will publish an update as soon as we can.

Dan,

Thanks! …I was such an idiot!

No worries, these things happen!

Cheers
Dan

Any news on this topic? I’m a developer and rolling back to macOS BS isn’t an option. Got a second computer, of course, so I’m not without RapidWeaver. But I use the macOS Monty computer for testing.

We’re working on it, but it’s not a quick fix… will post as soon as I have more news.

Hang in there, we’ll get it working!

3 Likes

Thanks, Dan. This is the first time I hit upgrade without checking all my apps first. Today, I’m the idiot. Appreciate all your hard work!

Hi, Dan. I was a bit too fast with upgrading to macOS Monterey as well. Will the RapidWeaver compatibility update be a regular update for everyone or a beta update? I look very much forward to this particular update. :wink: Thank you for your hard work!

All who have upgraded: Why are you not reinstalling PHP with Homebrew on your Monterey machines? This should fix the PHP server issue and enables preview of PHP pages inside RW again.

2 Likes

Ive tried homebrew, it installed but I think I need extra instructions on what to do next as RW still crashes on preview. No worries, its not my main Mac.

1 Like

I wonder if you could symlink /usr/bin/php to /usr/local/bin/php?

You cannot tell RW to use homebrew php to my knowledge.

3 Likes

Careful with PHP 8 though. It will break a lot of things right now. Stick with 7.4 for now

1 Like