Setapp has completely messed up my Rapidweaver

I ran into some issues with missing files on Rapidweaver (the Setapp version).

So I contact Setapp who talked me through uninstalling Rapidweaver and also Setapp itself, and then restoring them.

Alas, when I got it all back I am missing all my stacks and so all the websites are stuffed. But, when I look in preferences it looks like it is pointing at the right place for the libraries and the add-on files do seem to be there.

That said, I am no expert with this stacks/addons file location so I figure I must be missing something simple. They are stored in my Dropbox folder in a folder called ‘Rapidweaver Addons’.

I have got Dropbox on with doing a rewind, but amazingly they say it can take anything up to 24 hours (unbelievable, but true).

If there’s anyone can help it would be much appreciated.

Pip,

DropBox may well not be your best option as a location to install and keep what are effectively ‘system’ files for RW.

What happens when you move them (perhaps after a re-install of RW etc) to, say, a subdirectory of your user’s Library’s Containers?

2 Likes

Lots of folks have used Dropbox for years for storing addons. Back when RW7 first allowed you to “move” the addons folder Ben’s video even suggests it.

Seems that’s all changed. Lots of people are talking about problems with Dropbox. Everyone appears to be migrating away from Dropbox. Microsoft OneDrive or iCloud seems to still work okay.

1 Like

Yep. I moved off DropBox. I only use it for a couple shares with people. I use iCloud Drive now.

1 Like

How is iCloud working out for you syncing RW projects and addons folder?

I moved from DropBox to OneDrive recently as DB stopped working as it used to, buy OneDrive is not much better. iCloud might be an option?

I sync everything around three machines.

1 Like

iCloud has been working great for me.

2 Likes