Trouble with RW and Catalina

I upgraded my Mac to Catalina and then couldn’t use RapidWeaver. I had RW 5 so I bought RW 8 to upgrade the software.

I was sent instructions on how to do this with the old software but when I try to back up my RW websites Catalina won’t let me access the ap. All I can find is a folder with page titles not the project file, which I’m assuming the “project file” are the symbols with the two websites I have.

I get the circle with the bar or the message to find bit apps. When I go to the advice to find 32 bit app on my computer it doesn’t lead me to the project files so I don’t know where to go from here. I purchased the upgrade RW 8 plus whatever, but don’t want to try anything until I’ve backed up my websites? I’m not a techie so need an explanation in simple terms!

RW 5 definitely will not run in Catalina but your project files should still be on you mac.

do a finder search for .rwsw (I think that was the extension back then) and see if they show up

thanks, what I get/what comes up is two folders, one for each website. In the folder are “pages” and when I click pages I get some more folders and stuff I don’t understand. not the icon that usually represents my project?

Wasn’t there some intermediate stage where you had to open in it in a later version (RW6 ?) where it got converted and then you could open it in 7 or 8 ?

Vaguely rings a bell but can’t remember where that step occurred in the timeline of Rapidweaver ?

Dave

Maybe so, it’s been way to long to remember, I know you can go from latest 6.x to 8.x, but not sure about 5x.
OP may need to convert to 6X first. IDK if 6.x will run in Catalina either.

okay,

I think the “folders” you are seeing are the RapidWeaver Project files. RW project files are just a special kind of Mac Folder (called a package). You might be able to get them to convert to RW8, but probably won’t want to.