Upload PDFs to button

Hi, I have never worked on websites before but have inherited 4 sites being run from within RW7 where RW has been used as the CMS. I can change simple text but I’m trying to upload a zipped PDF of our magazine to our site and the instructions are meaningless to me. Can someone please tell me how to do this. Thanks

You are going to have to give us a little more detail/ what is the purpose?

For example:
Do you want visitors to be able to download this file?

You could upload a zip file to your server using any ftp app or your hosting file manager.
Add a link to that file on your webpage and visitors could download it.

1 Like

Hi Scott

Thanks… . Yes, we already have a button for visitors to click to download the latest magazine but I don’t know how to link the mag to the button… I have made a zip file on my desktop but when you say “upload using any FTP app or your hosting file manager”, I have no idea what that means! Where is that in RW? I’m not an IT person!

Thanks

Paul

An FTP app is a separate app for uploading and downloading files. There are lots of different ones, I use Transmit but there are others like; forklift, yummyFTP etc.

On your hosting account you should have access to a file manager, usually through your Cpanel interface. You would need to log into your hosting account to see it.

The only way to “Upload” a file using RW alone is to add the file to your resources area.

There are stacks for file management tasks as well. (if you are using the Stacks plugin)

1 Like

Thanks Scott, I can understand that’s what an FTP app does, and the laptop has CyberDuck? Is that it? It seems even more complicated than RW!

I’m afraid I don’t know what a hosting account is? Is it the 1to1 account? I have no idea what a Cpanel interface is??

If i can do it though RW alone, why would I mess with the FTP? where would I find the resources area in RW?