I have really bolluxed up my site...it won't link to the pages

Rapid weaver 5.02

I think I just clicked copy for each page when I wanted to add a page to my site, so now aI have 5 pages all named “index” and of course only the “index” page opens. Re-naming the other pages does not allow the links to automatically display from the home page. In 'view" mode, clicking the tabs doesn’t take me to the next page nor does it work with the site uploaded. How can I get my my site to flow without re-designing?
Thank you for your help for this newbie.
Ray

For the most part, your pages should be named index.
What should be different is the folder names.
Example: home page - folder name (empty) , docroot directory
About us page : folder name /about
Contact us page: folder name /contact

Etc, etc.

Web servers look for index as the filename by default, you actually have to specify if you don’t name it index

1 Like

I am a newbie too so my suggestion may not be on the mark. Nonetheless, if you mean by “nor does it work with the site uploaded” that you have published the site to the web then I can’t help you but if you mean that you have simply exported your work to a local folder on your computer then the links will not work, in my limited experience, until the site is properly “published” to a host.

Great advice here but so far, no luck. Every tab on the site that i click on just reopens the home page.
“How to get here” gives me the home page, what to bring, again homepage. etc.
I checked the folders in inspector and they have their own name styled-2, styled-3, styled-4 etc which is what Rapidweaver defaulted to.
Any other advice?

Okay, do you have a url?
Hard to tell what’s going on without being able to see the site.

You should name the folders, don’t use the default names it is a good SEO opportunity.

If not yet published, post screen shot of site setup page where you set the url etc and of a couple pages that are broken, may give us a clue.

1 Like