Trying to sort out settings

In the wild hope that someone can help, I’m asking if anyone here could suggest what I could do to solve this problem. Obviously settings have changed but being a crazy newbie, I can’t for the life of me work out what the problem is. When I press the ‘Test’ button, I get this Error message after about a minute.

This is the Settings Window. Can you spot any anomalies in there? My concerns would be where the arrows are. Yes I can ask the Domain hosts, but their service is lousy.

What host are you using?
Try this for your server: ftp.websitedomainname.com (replace with your website domain name)
Try this for your path: public_html.

1 Like

Path doesn’t look right. Wouldn’t have index.html in it, that’s a full file name.

1 Like

Thanks Lisa. Tried your suggestions. No go. The path was originally public_html so I’ll stick with that.

1 Like

You’re quite correct Doug. That was a wild stab in the dark on my part. Hopefully I’ll hear from the support people but they usually take days and days! Brad

1 Like

Good luck!
If you want a great host with great support, switch to https://www.chillidoghosting.com :slight_smile: @barchard runs it and is very active in the RW community.

Hi

Your publishing path should be a folder. Not a file. Rapidweaver will upload your entire site into the folder you specify there.

There are three main things in publishing:

1. username
  2. Password
  3. publishing path

The publishing path is often dictated by the username you use. This is because, more often than not, you can create additional ftp accounts. These ftp accounts have different access and folders they can view. As a result, you have to adjust the publishing path accordingly.